Security Guard (Guard Card) and Blue Card Licensing Requirements In Connecticut
SECURITY OFFICER LICENSE "GUARD CARD"
Security Officers - Book Your Class Today
The main requirement for security guards and armed security officers in almost all of the states is the license (sometimes known as the 'guard card'.) While each state has its own guidelines for licenses, employers and state statute require the applicant to be at least 18, pass a background check, complete classroom training. Classroom training can be one or any number of classes in subjects such as property's legal, emergency protocols, and properly detaining suspected criminals. The required classroom training to obtain eligibility as a security officer in Connecticut is referred to as Public Act 08-73. Our Guard Card Classes are required to be in compliance with Connecticut General Statutes.
- Effective October 1, 2009 all security officer licenses and renewals issued shall be valid for five (5) years with a fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00).
- All security officer license applications and renewals received or post-marked on or after October 1, 2009 will be subject to new licensing term and fee.
- All issued security officer licenses (guard card) shall be carried by the security officer at all times while performing the duties associated with the security officer’s employment.
- All registered security officers, in the course of performing their duties, shall present their guard card for inspection upon request of a law enforcement officer.
The State of Connecticut Guard Card Criminal Justice Class is required for any qualified person at least 18 years of age who is an employee of a licensed watchman, guard or security service or is an employee hired to perform as a watchman, guard or patrol by a firm or corporation.